Why I Drink Tea


A shot from the "Alice in Wonderland" tea party my friends and I held last spring.

A good cup of tea always eases stress for me.

I found a 2007 New York Times article by Anahad O’Connor  that claims that there is only a little bit of scientific evidence that drinking tea reduces stress. The New York Times reports a study done by the British Heart Foundation that found that black tea drinkers did not react to stress differently from those given a caffeinated placebo. The heart rates, hormones, etc. were the same in both groups of men.

However, the study did find that these men could calm down quicker after the stress–the hormones of tea drinkers returned to normal faster than the hormones of those given a placebo.

Read the full article, “The Claim: Drinking Tea Reduces Stress” here.

Ok, so the scientific studies aren’t so generous, but here’s some reasons why tea reduces stress for me and why I love drinking tea:

  • In the colder months, tea warms you up. There is nothing like sipping a warm beverage to keep you nice and toasty. And since it’s snowing outside in the springtime, right now that holds true.
  • Some tea has caffeine. Enough said.
  • Herbal tea, and even to an extent black tea, has a very earthy flavor and scent. It feels so natural and organic to drink tea.
  • Like coffee, tea comes in many flavors that are fun to try out. I like peach flavored tea a lot. I also like Celestial Seasonings Honey Vanilla Chamomile tea.
  • My favorite tea is Red Rose tea. I grew up drinking this tea…and the little figurines that come in the boxes are fun to collect!
  • Some herbal tea can help you fall asleep.
  • Tea and honey do wonders for a sore throat.
  • In the past, my friends dress up and have a tea party. We plan to have an outdoor tea party/picnic when the weather gets warmer. I would recommend having a tea party at least once. I know it sounds kind of frilly and girl-y, but it can be a lot of fun to dress up and get a tea set and make light snacks to go with your many flavors of tea.
  • Speaking of snacks, tea goes great with a Biscotti or other cookies.
  • I love chai tea lattes. Starbucks has the best chai lattes, in my opinion. They are a little spicy when they go down your throat, and therefore really nice in the winter or when you have a sore throat. Chai lattes always remind me of the holidays, but they are great  year round. :)
  • Drinking tea while studying or doing work just sets a tone of ambiance and worldliness. :)

Any other tea drinkers have recommendations for tea tastings or reasons why you love tea?

6 Comments

Filed under Random Things

6 responses to “Why I Drink Tea

  1. Matthew

    yay tea nom nom

  2. Madeleine

    If you ever find yourself in Boulder, Colorado, I highly recommend the Celestial Seasonings factory tour. The “peppermint room” is amazing. (Also, this post definitely fulfills the news article inspiration requirement.)

  3. Kate Pipa

    Loverly post! Reminded me of something my friend Nick just posted on his Tumblr – “A Nice Cup of Tea” by George Orwell, on his requirements for the perfect cup of tea: http://www.booksatoz.com/witsend/tea/orwell.htm. I do love Starbucks’ chai lattes as well haha!

  4. Great work,webmaster,nice design!

Leave a Reply

