Happy Saint Patty’s Day!


The luck of the Irish? I found this four leaf clover last summer.

In celebration of St Patrick’s Day, I took a little time this morning to learn about the Irish culture…  well sort of.  I’m far from an expert on Irish culture, but here are some tidbits of Ireland I came across this morning:

  • I got a 50 on the National Geographic Ireland quiz…but now I know a little trivia on Ireland’s geography, folklore culture, and tourism. Take the Ireland Quiz.
  • Want to learn how to speak with an Irish accent? Watch this VERY informative (ok, not at all, but very random and funny) video:
  • One of my favorite poets is Irish poet W.B. Yeats. I am also a huge fan of Irish author James Joyce, especially of his novel Ulysses… and while it is a very, very difficult read… I think he is a  genius.
  • Finally, here is some beautiful Celtic music in concert:

I know that’s only a very brief list of some things Irish…. (And since I’m not legal in America, I won’t talk about beer…). If you have any cool Irish links or facts, comment with them here! :)

2 Comments

Filed under Holidays

2 responses to “Happy Saint Patty’s Day!

  1. Sarah

    Does the meal come with POTAYYYYTOES…….BEEP

  2. Judy

    Celtic Women are my favorite Celtic group. I also like Capercailie/Karen Matheson who actor Sean Connery said of her voice “Her throat is surely touched by God”. Nightnoise was another group in the 80’s and 90’s that recorded under the Windham Hill label. I enjoy reading about the Irish culture and love listening to songs in Gaelic. Author Nora Roberts sets some of her trilogies in Ireland . And Maeve Binchy sets her books in Ireland.

Leave a Reply

